Register as a Dutch voter abroad

Are you living outside of the Netherlands? And would you like to vote in elections from abroad? Register as a voter once. You will automatically receive the documents you need to vote in every Dutch parliamentary election and European Parliament election by post. You can register simply using the form.

How does it work?

Register (form is in Dutch)

  • Complete this form
  • Print it
  • Sign it
  • Scan it or take a photo of it
  • Send it together with a copy of your valid identity document:

    • via a personal upload link. You will receive this link by email after filling in the form
    • by sending an email to: (send your application as an attachment, preferably as a PDF or JPG)
    • by post to: Gemeente Den HaagVerkiezingen KBNPostbus 84 0082508 AA Den HaagNederland
  • You will receive a confirmation by email once the municipality has received your registration request.
  • You will receive a confirmation that you were added to the permanent register once the municipality has processed your request.

Conditions for voting

You can vote in the elections for the members of the Tweede Kamer (House of Representatives) and the members of the European Parliament if you:

  • live outside of the Netherlands and are not registered in a Dutch municipality
  • have Dutch nationality
  • are 18 years or older

Voting as a Dutch voter abroad

The standard way of voting for Dutch voters abroad is to vote by post. In some countries the mail service is slow or unreliable. Would you rather not vote by post? Then you can decide to vote by proxy or with a voter card.

Voting by proxy or with a voter card

You can authorise somebody to vote on your behalf through a proxy. You need to request a new proxy for each new election.

You can also cast your vote on election day yourself at a Dutch polling station (also in Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba). You do this using a voter card (kiezerspas). You need to request a new voter card for each new election.

Keep your address up to date

Have you moved or are you going to move? Report your change of address.


Do you have any questions? Contact the Elections Unit of the municipality.

Watch the video Permanente registratie kiezers buiten Nederland (YouTube channel of the municipality)
Also see Dutch voters abroad
Also see: New electoral college elections for non-residents of the Netherlands

Published: 6 September 2022Modified: 6 September 2022