The Hague and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

In 2015 the United Nations adopted 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). These goals strive to ensure a sustainable future for everyone by 2030. The Hague is a Global Goals City.

The SDGs apply to all countries and all people worldwide. They are the successors to the Millennium Goals (2000-2015).

To be able to achieve the SDGs good partnerships and cooperation are essential. Both close to home and at an international level. The Hague is also committed to achieving these goals. This is described in The Hague’s 2019-2022 coalition agreement.

Goals in The Hague

There is a great deal of overlap between many of the goals for sustainable development and themes which municipalities are working on a daily basis. Examples include:

  • reducing inequality
  • creating a pleasant and safe living environment
  • making and using sustainable products

Each of the 17 SDGs are divided into smaller targets.

The 17 world goals for sustainable development (SDGs)
The 17 world goals for sustainable development (SDGs)


Do you have a question or comment about the SDGs? Send an email to

Also see: SDG Nederland

    Published: 6 January 2022Modified: 4 March 2022