The Hague Municipal Executive

The Municipal Executive (college van burgemeester en wethouders) is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the municipality. The mayor chairs the Municipal Executive and the Municipal Council.

Together with the mayor, the aldermen make up the Municipal Executive. The Municipal Executive is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the city, on the basis of a joint 4-year policy programme. The Municipal Council determines the main policy areas, takes major decisions and keeps a check on the Municipal Executive. This division of government powers is called ‘dualism’.

The aldermen

The Hague has 8 aldermen. Each alderman, or deputy mayor, is in charge of a number of particular policy areas. In addition all of the aldermen are responsible for 1 city district. In that city district an alderman is accountable for the city district plan drawn up each year. The alderman needs to keep an eye on whether approved plans and measures are actually implemented in a city district. If there are problems in a city district, the alderman has to come up with solutions to these problems. The statute gives the Mayor responsibility for public order and safety.

The coalition parties

Hart voor Den Haag/Groep de Mos, VVD, D66 and GroenLinks provide the aldermen. Aldermen may also be appointed if they are not a council member.

The mayor

Pauline Krikke was sworn in as mayor on 17 March 2017.

The Hague’s aldermen as of 7 June 2018 are: 


College van B en W
Spui 70
2511 BT Den Haag

City manager

In addition to the mayor and aldermen, there is a city manager. Peter Hennephof is city manager of The Hague. As the highest municipal employee, he is responsible for the municipal organisation but also takes part in the meetings of the Municipal Executive.

Press photos

Photos of the Municipal Executive will be available here.

Published: 22 January 2018Modified: 8 June 2018