Organigram for the municipality

The Municipality of The Hague is divided into 9 departments. Here you will find more information about how the organisation is structured, the Annual Social Report and working for the municipality.

Organisational structure

The Municipal Council is responsible for the general management of the municipality. The Municipal Executive (het college van burgemeester en wethouders) has the day-to-day management of the municipality.

Within the municipal organisation there are 9 departments, each with its own policy area. The name of each department has also been abbreviated in the diagram.

Organigram for the Municipality of The Hague
Organigram for the Municipality of The Hague


The Municipality of The Hague has the following departments:

Dutch name English name Functions
Bedrijfsexpertisecentrum (BEC) Operational Management Expertise Centre
Bestuursdienst (BSD) Department of Municipal Administration administration, press relations
Dienst Publiekszaken (DPZ) Department of Public Service products and services, public library, municipal archives, tax department, city districts and neighbourhoods
Dienst Stadsbeheer (DSB) Department of City Management general affairs, archaeology and nature and environmental education, city management, accessibility and traffic management, parks & recreation and cemeteries, street cleaning, environment and permits, markets, public space and infrastructure
Dienst Stedelijke Ontwikkeling (DSO) Department of Urban Development town planning, existing buildings and houses
Gemeentelijke Accountantsdienst (GAD) Municipal Accounting Department
Intern Dienstencentrum (IDC) Internal Services Centre
Dienst Onderwijs, Cultuur en Welzijn (OCW) Department of Education, Culture & Well-Being sport, culture, education, public health (GGD), well-being
Dienst Sociale Zaken en Werkgelegenheidsprojecten (SZW) Department of Social Affairs and Employment Projects work and income

Council Committees

The Municipal Council also decides how the municipality's resources will be allocated. The decisions the Municipal Council must take are first discussed in Council committees. The committees are described below.

Municipal Council Committees
Dutch name English name
Commissie Bestuur Governance Committee
Commissie Leefomgeving Public Space Committee
Commissie Samenleving Social Affairs Committee
Commissie Ruimte Urban Development Committee
Rekeningen Commissie Public Accounts Committee

Municipal Clerk's Office

In 2002 The Hague Municipal Council introduced the concept of a dual government. This means that there is a separation of powers between the Municipal Council (Gemeenteraad) and the Municipal Executive (college van burgemeester en wethouders). The Municipal Clerk's Office (Griffie) was created when political dualism was introduced.

Annual Social Report

The Annual Social Report contains facts and figures on municipal employees. You can find previous editions of the annual report in the Raadsinformatiesysteem (RIS).


Would you like to work at the municipality? And would you like to know about the vacancies? You can read about them on the website

Published: 19 April 2017Modified: 31 July 2020