Council committees

Council committees prepare for plenary Council meetings by discussing the decisions that the Municipal Council must take.

A Council committee discusses the substance of issues that concern the Municipality of The Hague as a whole, such as employment, city planning, sport, welfare and traffic.

Committee members also discuss the policy of the Municipal Executive (college van burgemeester en wethouders) and its implementation. The position taken by a party in such committees often determines how they vote in the Council.

The committees are as follows:

  • Governance Committee (Commissie Bestuur)
  • Public Space Committee (Commissie Leefomgeving)
  • Social Affairs Committee (Commissie Samenleving)
  • Urban Development Committee (Commissie Ruimte)
  • Public Accounts Committee (Rekeningen Commissie)

Click here to read about The Hague's municipal organisation.

Published: 16 February 2012Modified: 22 June 2018