Kerkhoflaan Cemetery

The municipal cemetery on the Kerkhoflaan is 1 of 2 municipal cemeteries. The cemetery has existed since 1830. It is an attractive and lush location in the city.

Kerkhoflaan has been a municipal cemetery since 1991. There is an auditorium and an attractive condolence area. In addition there is a cold room with 6 spots and a condolence area. It is possible to arrange a public viewing of the body.

Kerkhoflaan Cemetery

Opening hours

The Kerkhoflaan Cemetery is open daily from 8.00 to 18.00 hrs. During the summer the cemetery stays open until 21.00 hrs.

Getting there

You can reach the Kerkhoflaan Cemetery on Tram 1 and 9 (rear entrance canal, Riouwstraat tram stop) and Bus 22. For more travel information go to

You can also park your car around the Kerkhoflaan. This is a paid parking zone. Check the signs on the street for the exact times.

Special features

At the cemetery you will find an information column which will help you to quickly locate graves. Here you can also print a map with a walking route. You can look at special grave monuments, including 2 mausoleums. A number of famous Dutch people are buried in the Kerkhoflaan Cemetery, like the writer Anna Bosboom-Toussaint and the politicians Johan Thorbecke and Pieter Jelles Troelstra.

The Kerkhoflaan Cemetery was designed by The Hague city architect Zeger Reyers.

Address and contact

Kerkhoflaan 12
2585 JB Den Haag
Telefoon: (070) 350 40 36 (available between 9.00 and 12.00 hrs.)

'Burials in The Hague' app

You can find information on the municipal cemeteries and their facilities using the app 'Begraven in Den Haag' ('Burials in The Hague'). You can also use it to arrange your affairs and make reservations. Download the app for the iPhone or Android.

Stonemasons, gardeners and other people who would like to perform work-related activities at the cemetery for third parties can work Monday to Friday from 8.00 to 16.00 hrs. They are required to report to the administrator of the cemetery before they start their work.

Also see

    Published: 10 April 2017Modified: 23 July 2018